Showbiz Celebs who will be Contesting Indian Elections 2014

Showbiz Celebs who will be Contesting Indian Elections 2014

Mahesh Manjrekar, Hema Malini, Rakhi Sawant and Gul Panag are among the many filmi celebs contesting the elections.

A number of popular faces from the world of entertainment have entered the poll fray for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, which will be held from April 7 to May 12. Here’s a look at some celebrity candidates.

Smriti Irani Election 2014
Smriti Irani

Smriti Irani: The actress, who immortalised the ‘adarsh bahu’ on the small screen, will be BJP’s candidate against Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi from the Amethi constituency of Uttar Pradesh.

Paresh Rawal Bollywood Actor
Paresh Rawal

Paresh Rawal: The BJP is fielding the critically acclaimed actor from Ahmedabad East Lok Sabha constituency, instead of sitting MP Harin Pathak. Pathak is a seven-time Lok Sabha member and is considered close to senior leader L.K. Advani.

Jaaved Jaaferi Indian Actor
Jaaved Jaaferi

Jaaved Jaaferi: The Aam Aadmi Party ( AAP) has decided to field actor and reality show judge Jaaved Jaaferi from the Lucknow constituency against BJP president Rajnath Singh.

Gul Panag Election 2014
Gul Panag

Gul Panag: The former beauty queen-turned-actress will fight the elections from Chandigarh on an AAP ticket. Panag was chosen after Savita Bhatti, wife of late Jaspal Bhatti, withdrew her name.

Nagma 2014

Nagma: The actress, who is highly popular down south, has joined the Congress, and will contest the elections from Meerut in Uttar Pradesh.

Mahesh Manjrekar Election
Mahesh Manjrekar

Mahesh Manjrekar: Renowned director-actor, he will contest the Lok Sabha elections as a Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) candidate from Mumbai North-West.

Jaya Prada Pictures
Jaya Prada

Jaya Prada: The actress will contest on a Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) ticket from Bijnor in Uttar Pradesh.

Hema Malini Election Pics
Hema Malini

Hema Malini: The Dreamgirl will be contesting on a BJP ticket from Mathura in Uttar Pradesh.

Vinod Khanna
Vinod Khanna

Vinod Khanna: The actor-cum-politician will contest for BJP from Gurdaspur in Punjab and will take on Punjab Congress chief Partap Singh Bajwa.

Shatrughan Sinha
Shatrughan Sinha

Shatrughan Sinha: The veteran actor-turned-politician has been chosen as BJP’s candidate from Patna Sahib constituency. Bhojpuri actor Kunal Singh has filed his nomination for the same seat as a Congress candidate.

Rakhi Sawant
Rakhi Sawant

Rakhi Sawant: The item girl has announced her candidature from the Mumbai North West parliamentary constituency. She is standing as an independent candidate with green chilli as her symbol.

Bappi Lahiri
Bappi Lahiri

Bappi Lahiri: The music composer, who has joined the BJP, has been given a ticket from Sreerampur, in Hooghly district, Kolkata.

Ravi Kishan Election 2014
Ravi Kishan

Ravi Kishan: The Bhojpuri superstar will contest the Lok Sabha polls on a Congress ticket from Jaunpur.

Ramya Kannada Actress

Ramya: The Kannada actress will stand for elections from Mandya in Karnataka. She is the sitting Congress MP from the same constituency.

Moon Moon Sen 2014
Moon Moon Sen

Moon Moon Sen: The daughter of legendary Bengali star Suchitra Sen, and herself a former actress, Sen is being fielded by the Trinamool Congress from West Bengal’s Bankura constituency.

Prakash Jha Election 2014
Prakash Jha

Prakash Jha: The renowned filmmaker is fighting the polls on a Janta Dal(U) ticket from West Champaran in Bihar. Jha has stated that he is contesting the elections at the request of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Kirron Kher BJP
Kirron Kher

Kirron Kher: The actress, who is part of the BJP, will contest the elections from Chandigarh, against another Bollywood colleague, AAP’s Gul Panag.

Raj Babbar Congress
Raj Babbar

Raj Babbar: The actor-cum-politician will fight the elections on a Congress ticket from Ghaziabad.

Manoj Tiwari Election 2014
Manoj Tiwari

Manoj Tiwari: Another Bhojpuri superstar, he has joined the BJP, and will contest the Lok Sabha polls from Buxar in Bihar.

Kamal R Khan Election 2014
Kamal R Khan

Kamaal R Khan: The controversial actor has joined the Samajwadi Party (SP), and would take on Congress stalwart Gurudas Kamat in the battle for the north-west constituency in Mumbai.


I agree to have my personal information transfered to Interspire Email Marketer ( more information )
Join over 30,000 visitors who are receiving our newsletter and regular updates about Bollywood directly in their Inbox.
We hate spam. Your email address will not be sold or shared with anyone else.